

<sub>ज्ञान-विज्ञान विमुक्तये</sub> आचार्य मनिष र. जोशी

### र्साचेव

# Prof. Manish R. Joshi

Secretary

## D.O. No. F.1-50/2021(ABC/NAD)



#### August 07, 2024/ 16 श्रावण, 1946

#### महोदऱ्या/महोदय,

The NEP 2020 envisions moving towards a higher educational system consisting of large, multidisciplinary universities and colleges and aims to create imaginative and flexible curricular structures promoting a credit-based system that encourages flexible, integrated, and multidisciplinary education thus, removing currently prevalent rigid boundaries and creating new possibilities for lifelong learning offering multiple entry and exit points.

In order to realize the vision of NEP 2020, an Academic Bank of Credit (ABC) has been established which digitally stores the academic credits earned from various recognized HEls so that the degrees from an HEI can be awarded considering credits earned. To ensure the realization of the vision of NEP 2020, the role of Academic Institutions is critical by ensuring timely upload of credits to the APAAR credit repository and depositing them in the students' APAAR accounts. This is essential to facilitate the redemption and transfer of credits.

In an ideal scenario, all academic institutions must upload credit information immediately post completion of assessments and declaration of results. However as per the information shared by National E-Governance Division (NEGD), it has been observed that the award granting Institutions onboarded on the ABC platform are not depositing credits in the students APAAR IDs in a timely manner which is defeating the very purpose for which ABC was envisaged.

Based on the Ministry of Education vide D.O. letter No.F.16-5/2020-TEL dated 29.07.2024, HEIs are informed that the last date for uploading of credit data on the ABC portal is 31<sup>st</sup> December, 2024, post which the HEIs shall not be allowed to deposit credits on the ABC eco-system.

You are requested to review the current status of your institution and ensure uploading of credit data within the above timelines.

For assistance, if any, you may contact the following officers:

- i. Smt. Beena Menon, Under Secretary, UGC (beena.ugc@nic.in, 011 23604327) and supportnad@gov.in.
- ii. Sh. Gaurav Khare, Business Development Manager, National e-Governance Division (gaurav khare1@digitalindia.gov.in, Mob: +91 98910 81761)

सादर.

भवदीय,

मनिष जोशी)

То

The VCs of all the Universities.

The Directors/Principals of all the Autonomous Colleges.